OpenAI has pledged to pay the full electricity and required infrastructure costs at every data center it owns and operates, while ending the use of nondisclosure agreements with public officials.

The commitments are set out in a document the company calls the National Community Compact. The same document is also described as a Compute Campus Policy Blueprint.

The pledge addresses two major concerns surrounding large artificial-intelligence data centers: who pays for the power and infrastructure they require, and how openly companies engage with public officials.

Voters signal opposition to data-center limits

CNBC reported that voters backed limits on data centers in 40 of 41 local ballot measures across 10 states. That result provides the immediate public context for OpenAI's commitments, although the supplied material does not identify the individual communities or describe the measures in detail.

The ballot results indicate that data-center expansion has become a local political issue. Electricity demand and infrastructure requirements can affect communities where new facilities are proposed, making the financial terms of development relevant to residents and local governments.

OpenAI's stated policy would place the company's electricity and required infrastructure costs at its own data centers on OpenAI. The pledge applies to facilities the company owns and operates, according to the supplied report. The material does not specify the value of those costs, the projects covered or how compliance will be monitored.

Greater transparency in official dealings

OpenAI also said it would stop signing nondisclosure agreements with public officials. Such agreements can restrict the public disclosure of information shared during discussions, but details about existing agreements or explain whether any current arrangements will change immediately is not yet available.

The company wants its sites to be called “AI compute campuses”, according to the available article text. The supplied material ends before explaining the full reasoning behind that terminology or listing additional provisions in the blueprint.

The policy arrives as OpenAI seeks to address resistance to data-center development. Reuters described the move as part of a charm offensive aimed at changing voters' views of data centers, while other reports similarly characterised the commitments as an effort to keep projects on track. Those reports are secondary context and do not provide further verified details about specific sites in the supplied material.

For residents and public officials, the practical significance will depend on how the commitments are applied to individual projects. The available information confirms the broad promises, but not the contractual language, enforcement process or timetable for implementation.

Conclusion

OpenAI says it will assume full electricity and required infrastructure costs at the data centers it owns and operates and will no longer sign nondisclosure agreements with public officials. The pledges follow voter support for data-center limits in 40 of 41 local ballot measures across 10 states.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. What has OpenAI pledged to pay for?

OpenAI says it will pay the full electricity and required infrastructure costs at every data center it owns and operates.

Q. What type of agreements will OpenAI stop signing?

The company says it will stop signing nondisclosure agreements with public officials.

Q. Where are the commitments described?

They appear in a document called the National Community Compact, also described as a Compute Campus Policy Blueprint.

Q. What did voters decide in local ballot measures?

CNBC reported that voters backed limits on data centers in 40 of 41 local ballot measures across 10 states.

Q. What name does OpenAI want to use for its sites?

OpenAI wants its sites to be called “AI compute campuses”, according to the available article text.

Q. Does the supplied material explain how the pledges will be enforced?

No. It does not specify an enforcement process, timetable, project list or the value of the costs covered.